Stanley Hawes Award

2018 Stanley Hawes Award

Nominations have now closed for the 2018 STANLEY HAWES AWARD for contribution to documentary in Australia.

The $5,000 Stanley Hawes Award is presented annually at the Australian International Documentary Conference (AIDC) to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the Australian documentary sector.

Nominees can come from all facets of the industry and can be a producer, director, broadcaster, distributor, educator, editor, archivist, cinematographer, sound recordist, or other craftsperson or technical specialist.

The Award was established in 1997 to honour documentary producer and director Stanley Hawes – Producer-in-Chief of the Australian National Film Board and Commonwealth Film Unit from 1946-1969 – and recognises the significant support he gave independent filmmakers in the documentary sector.

The winner of the 2018 Stanley Hawes Award will be announced on the opening day of AIDC 2018, Sunday 4 March 2018. 

See below for further information about past winners, nominee selection criteria, and the award voting process.

Previous Winners

2017 - Brian Beaton (posthumous)

2016 - Sonya Pemberton

2015 - Pauline Clague

2014 - Chris Hilton

2013 - Documentary Australia Foundation

2012 - Julia Overton

2011 - Rachel Perkins

2010 - Tom Zubrycki

2009 - Bob Connolly

2008 - David Bradbury

2007 - Michael Gissing

2006 - John Hughes

2005 - CAAMA

2004 - Robin Hughes

2003 - Steward Young

2001 - Pat Fiske

1999 - John Heyer

Selection Criteria

  • Nominees must be nominated by a current AIDC member.
  • Nominees may be a producer, director, editor, cinematographer, sound recordist, presenter, facilitator, educator, broadcaster, distributor, commissioning editor or any profession deemed significant within the non-fiction screen sector.
  • Nominees must have made an outstanding contribution to the Australian documentary, factual and / or unscripted screen sector for at least 10 years.
  • The award recognizes entrepreneurship and vision as reflected by the nominee's body of work or their contribution to the screen sector.
  • Nominees must be Australian citizens or permanent residents.

​Nomination / Voting Process

  • Nominations are emailed in the form of a written statement (200 words max) to
  • The 2018 deadline for nominations is 6 December 2017.
  • These nominations are reviewed by the AIDC board and put to a secret ballot. The votes are then tallied on a preferential voting system.
  • The winner is advised within enough time so that they can prepare travel arrangements to the next AIDC event.
  • The winner is invited to present a keynote address to all delegates at the AIDC event.
  • The winner is awarded $5,000 and a trophy at the AIDC event.