Welcome to the 12 new national and international members of AIDC's brain trust

The Australian International Documentary Conference is pleased to announce the 12 members of the newly recruited AIDC Advisory Committee, appointed as preparation begins for AIDC 2020, happening 1 – 4 March 2020 at State Library Victoria in Melbourne. 

The committee comprises local and international documentary and factual professionals drawn from a wide range of fields.

Each member has been recruited specifically to assist AIDC in developing an industry-relevant and timely program addressing global trends, challenges and opportunities. 

International Members

  • Diane Weyermann (USA) President of Documentary Film & Television, Participant Media
  • Shane Smith (Canada) Director of Programming, Hot Docs
  • Victoria Noble (UK) Vice President, Original Content, Factual, Discovery
  • Jason Ryle (Canada) Executive Director, imagineNATIVE

Diane Weyermann

Shane Smith

Victoria Noble

Jason Ryle

Australian Members

  • Andrew Farrell, Head of Factual, CJZ Productions
  • Elissa McKeand, Executive Producer, Unscripted Development, Foxtel
  • John Godfrey, Head of Unscripted, SBS
  • Sarah Thornton, Executive Producer, Network Ten
  • Dean Gibson, Director, Bacon Factory Films
  • Maya Newell, Director
  • Matthew Bate, Director, Closer Productions
  • Katy Morrison, Producer, VRTOV

Andrew Farrell

Elissa McKeand

John Godfrey

Sarah Thornton

Dean Gibson

Maya Newell

Matthew Bate

Katy Morrison

AIDC Board Co-Chair Fiona Gilroy, said, “The board of the AIDC is grateful for the input that our Advisory Committee will give to the conference and are confident their contribution will help shape an industry-relevant program with a global vision.”

To learn more about the individual members, please visit the Advisory Committee page of the AIDC website.

AIDC 2020 will take place at State Library Victoria in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia from 1 – 4 March 2020. Early Bird registration opens 15 October 2019 at

For more information, contact AIDC Communications and Marketing Manager Chris Harms on Please click here to download this media release as a PDF.


Call for 2020 Stanley Hawes Award Nominations
27 August 2019

Call for 2020 Stanley Hawes Award Nominations

AIDC is now seeking nominees for the 2020 Stanley Hawes Award for Outstanding Contribution to Documentary

Read More


Screen Australia and Al Jazeera announce Witness pitching comp for AIDC
18 September 2019

Screen Australia and Al Jazeera announce Witness pitching comp for AIDC

$100,000 commissions available for up to three 25-minute documentaries by early career filmmakers

Read More