Curtis Levy to receive 2018 Stanley Hawes Award

27 February 2018

The Australian International Documentary Conference (AIDC) is proud to announce Curtis Levy as the recipient of the 18th Stanley Hawes Award, given for Outstanding Contribution to the Documentary Sector in Australia.

Curtis is a prolific independent filmmaker with a career in documentary spanning more than 40 years. His work has been shown widely throughout the world and won many international awards.

His acclaimed films include The Matilda Candidate (2009), which follows the hilarious journey taken by Curtis as he stands for election to the Australian parliament; The President Versus David Hicks (2004, pictured below), about the Australian Taliban fighter, David Hicks (AFI Award for Best Documentary Film and Logie for Best Documentary Film), and Hephzibah (1998, Silver Wolf Award for Best Video Documentary at International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam, AFI Award for Best Documentary Film and the Film Critics Circle of Australia Award for Best Documentary Film).

He has made many films in Indonesia, including High Noon in Jakarta (2001), an intimate portrait of Abdurrachman Wahid, the first democratically elected president of Indonesia. His film Breakout (1984), about the mass suicidal breakout of Japanese prisoners-of-war from their camp in Cowra in New South Wales, won the Award for Best Television Documentary at the Chicago International Film Festival.

The Award will be given to Curtis at a morning presentation on Monday 5 March during AIDC 2018, where he will provide the Stanley Hawes Oration. The Oration will take place immediately before the Masterclass by American producer Robert Fernandez, Errol Morris’ Wormwood… Like producing 3 films at once.

“I really appreciate receiving this award, particularly at a time when cutting edge or, dare I say, controversial documentaries are under fire. This award will give me renewed ammunition to rejoin the battle,” Curtis said upon being notified of the Award.

Curtis Levy joins a formidable group of Stanley Hawes Awards recipients, including such Australian documentary luminaries as Brian Beaton (2017), Sonya Pemberton (2016), Chris Hilton (2014) and Julia Overton (2012).

Established to acknowledge outstanding contributions by a person or organisation to documentary in Australia, the Award also pays tribute to its namesake, Stanley Hawes - prolific factual filmmaker and first Producer-in-Chief of the Australian Film Board (from 1946-1969).

Find out more about the Stanley Hawes Award


Media enquiries:
Tracey Mair, TM Publicity
For AIDC 2018
Ph: 02 8333 9066 or 0419 221 493