Staff & Board

Core Organisation and Project Staff

CEO & Conference Director - Andrew Wiseman

Administration Manager - Megan Mohell

Conference Programmer - Alice Burgin

Communications & Marketing Manager - Chris Harms

Partnerships & Development Manager - Janine Eckert

Event Manager - Melanie Dimattina

Event & Guest Services Coordinator - Adele Moreira

Marketplace Coordinator - Danielle McCarthy

Production Coordinator - Brittney Montag

Volunteer Coordinator - Paul Lilley

Production Assistant - Tania Lentini 

Intern - Jacqueline Daniele

​Board Of Directors

Co-Chair - Fiona Gilroy

Since beginning at Film Australia in 1989 as Sales & Marketing Operations Manager, Fiona has built strong relationships with producers and international content buyers. As Content Sales Manager at SBS from 1996, she worked to market drama and documentary content across all platforms worldwide. Establishing her consultancy business Fi'sAbility in 2009, Fiona worked with independent producers to maximise commercial opportunities for their content and explore new business models. In 2011 she joined Flame Media startup Flame Distribution as Content Sales & Acquisitions Director, developing Flame's catalogue of 2,500 hours of unscripted content created by over 100 independent filmmakers from around the world.

Co-Chair - Karena Slaninka

Co-Chair of the Board and passionate champion of the AIDC, Karena Slaninka has extensive knowledge of the screen industry with over 25 years experience spanning a diverse range of leadership and creative roles in Australia and the UK. She is an award-winning writer and producer, and is currently in development on several screen projects through her company Comedy Waltz Pty Ltd.

Treasurer - Frank Filosi

Frank Filosi is the General Manager Adelaide, Perth and Operations for Network Ten. He has 30 years experience working in the television industry and throughout his career has held the positions of Assistant Accountant, Company Accountant, Director of Finance/Company Secretary, and General Manager. Frank also represents Network Ten on various joint venture Company Boards and management committees, including TX Australia Pty. Ltd., a joint venture that manages the transmission sites and facilities of the three commercial broadcasters across Australia. He has extensive Board experience with organisations involved in the marketing, promotional and charitable sectors.

Secretary - Janine Pearce

Janine practiced in the areas of securities, mergers and acquisitions and intellectual property at the New York and Tokyo offices of Cleary Gottlieb, before moving to Showtime Networks in New York, where she managed television distribution contracts and advised on advertising, antitrust, copyright and trademark law. Janine moved to Sydney in 1998 and worked at the FFC, predecessor to Screen Australia, advising on the FFC's investment in feature films and television drama until 2006. She currently operates a sole practice, JP Media Law and Consulting, where she represents creators and producers of film and television projects and advises on all aspects of media law and financing. Janine acted as Executive Producer on two feature films, Road Train and The Reef, and is a partner in Chesterfield Offset Finance.

Kingston Anderson

Kingston is currently the CEO of the Australian Directors Guild and Australian Screen Directors Authorship Collection Society. He has produced a number of documentary programs for Australian television including the series Taxi School for SBS Television Australia and A Frontier Conversation and Kulka for National Indigenous Television (NITV). He was also one of the producers on the SBS drama Aftershocks.

Mandy Chang

Mandy Chang is ABC TV’s Head of Arts and oversees an eclectic and challenging slate of TV arts programming. Her work for the ABC includes such docs and doc series as Autopsy on a Dream, Hannah Gadsby’s Oz, Getting Frank Gehry, The Cambodian Space Project, Comic Book Heroes and Art + Soul II. Prior to this she was an award-winning producer/director making documentaries for the BBC and other global broadcasters. She is currently working on a slate of films for the Artsville strand, David Stratton's Story of Australian Cinema, Mystify (the untold story of Michael Hutchence), and a number of docs for the iview Arts Channel.

Dr. Cathy Henkel

Dr. Cathy Henkel is Director of the WA Screen Academy at Edith Cowan University. She has worked as a documentary producer/director and writer for 26 years and founded boutique screen industries company Virgo Productions. Her credits include The Burning Season (IF Award Best Documentary, Emmy nomination 2008), I told you I was ill: Spike Milligan, and The Man who Stole my Mother’s Face (IF Award, Tribeca Film Festival Best Feature Documentary Award 2004). Her most recent credits are Show Me the Magic and Rise of the Eco-Warriors. Her many awards include SPA Documentary Producer of the Year (2009), an ACS Award, and numerous AFI and ATOM nominations and awards.

Denise Eriksen

Denise Eriksen has been Head of Factual and Head of Current Affairs at the ABC, Head of Production and Development at SBS, and made programmes for Seven, Nine, Ten and Foxtel over her lengthy career - which also took her to the UK for many years. She has trained TV professionals in many genres in Australia and around the world, and is the MC of TV Talks for AFTRS in Sydney. She recently revived her original career as a journalist, contributing toThe New Daily and as a panellist for Radio National’sTV Club, among other outlets.

Susie Jones

Susie Jones recently stepped into the role of Commissioning Editor, Documentaries at SBS. Before joining SBS, Susie spent four years at Matchbox Pictures overseeing the development of unscripted productions for various networks. Prior to her time at Matchbox, Susie worked over ten years as a freelance producer and director for a range of content across SBS, ABC, Network Ten, Nine Network, Seven Network and the Discovery Channel. As well as a strong track record in factual entertainment, in 2010 her documentary for the ABC, Rudely Interrupted, was nominated for an AFI award.